Thursday, May 07, 2009

Yog parichay - Introduction to yoga

The word 'YOG' is coined by the root word in sanskrit 'YUJ' . And the word yoga means combine something.So while doing yoga we combine our outer body postures with the internal organs and glands.Also ..every where in ancient yoga training it is stated again and again with impression that we have to control our breath(may b..hold it in,or out ..or breathing slowly stated there) and also to control thinking process going in our brains.Thats why just before every 'Asana' it is a norm to first sit calmly for half a min. and breath deeply than we usually do..and close ur eyes and focus your brain to the present and whatever is happening just in this second.So yoga is just not a technique to keep your self healthy or to get in shape by loosing fat..but the aim of yoga goes beyond all these first after effects.The aim of yoga is to reach the highest level of our existance :)
The yoga has eight main..or basic chapters ..or we may assume like..the Yoga is classified primarily in eight parts !Thats why the term comes in ancient books of Yoga..'Ashtaang yoga'.
This term contains the word 'Asht' mean eigth...and 'Ang' means parts..most hindi and sanskrit words can b understood with this simple technique too..just try to break the words in two or three basic words and you get the intention of framing the word.So scientific is this sanskrit language is..that you get a complete definition of a word just in the word itself !Thats like a perfectly organised system with no loopholes and no scope left for further developments.Dont know who made all these knowledge available to indians..were those Aryans or the Dravidians...but this is for sure..india was the mainland where all such higher sciences were discovered and evolved .

So here i mention the eight basic parts of yoga called the 'Ashtaang yog'.We will get an expalination on all these one by one in the next post.

1. Yamm or yumm
2. Niyam
3. Aasana (mostly ppl think this is what yoga is..but it is just a part of yoga :D)
4. Pranaayam
5. Pratyaahar
6. Dhaarna
7. Dhyaan
8. Samaadhi

योग शब्द 'युज ' धातु से बना है / ' योग ' का शाब्दिक अर्थ ' मिलान या संधान ' होता है /योग के हर आसन को करते समय ये हमेशा कहा जाता है की पहले आधा मिनिट के लिए शांत मन से आराम से बैठिये और गहरी साँस लीजिये और मनन को वर्तमान में ले आयें ..यानि के कहने का मतलब ये है की योग केवल शरीर को स्वस्थ रखने का साधन मात्र नही है अपितु शरीर को स्वस्थ रखना तो पहली सीढ़ी है जिसपर हम पहुचते हैं योग करते हुए /योग इस से भी बहुत आगे की बात को साधने के लिए है वास्तव में /आत्मा और परमात्मा का संधान योग द्वारा ही होता है भारत के ऋषि - मुनियों ने तन ,मनन ,और प्राण की शुद्धी एवं परमात्मा को पाने के लिए के लिए योग के 8 अंगों का निर्देश दिया है /इन्हें अष्टांग योग ' कहा जाता है /हम भारतीय तो अच्छी तरह जानते हैं इस बात को की किसी भी हिन्दी या संस्कृत शब्द को समझने के लिए बस उसका संधि विच्छेद कर दीजिये :)
आपको अष्टांग योग के आठों अंग तो अभी बता देते हैं यहीं..मगर इनके बारे में विस्तार से अगली पोस्ट में बात की जायेगी /
ये आठ अंग हैं -
१। यम्
२। नियम
३। आसन (जबकि हम केवल आसन हो ही योग समझते हैं :D)
४। प्राणायाम
५। प्रत्याहार
६। धारणा
७। ध्यान
८। समाधि

Labels: , , ,


Blogger Raviratlami said...

आग्रह है कि योग पर हिन्दी में नियमित लिखें.

1:26 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home

Free counters provided by Andale.

Visit recorder